16 October 2019

00:00:00 (GMT+5)

Tashkent +10,8 °C

26 Mar  2019 688

Uzbekistan creates five more protected natural areas until 2022

All of them will be located in Karakalpakstan. The Decree of the President “On measures to improve the system of public administration in the field of protected natural territories” has also transferred the management of state reserves, national natural parks and hunting farms, from State Committee on Forestry to the State Committee on Ecology and environmental protection.

The State Committee on Ecology and environmental protection now is in charge for the Chatkal biosphere, Zaamin, Surkhan, Nurata and Kyzylkum state reserves. Therefore, changes has been introduced to the structure of the Committee. The Main Directorate for Biodiversity and Protected Natural Areas is created.

The decree approved the Roadmap for the development of a system of protected natural areas in 2019-2022.

Within the next three years five protected natural areas will be created on the territory of the Republic of Karakalpakstan. They are State Reserve “South Ustyurt”,  State ordered reserves “Beltov”, “Okpetki” and “Akdarya-Kazakdarya”. State ordered reserve “System of lakes Sudochye” will be organized instead of the state registered reserve "Sudochie".

Similar news

Click on the button below to listen to the text Powered by GSpeech